The recursivity of experience

I’ve been labouring under a false apprehension about how I have to think about this, but the wonderful Consciousness and Experiential Psychology conference on neurophenomenology disclosed for me just how I can move forward. One of the most interesting things to note about this process of disclosure is that it is, and continues to be, a recursive experiential process.

The context of these thoughts is that I am hoping to bring about some neurophenomenological work with some folk in the Alexander Technique (AT) community, and they speak of the formation of coincident or correlating ‘neurological sets’ in their intersubjective practice.

So, at the conference I presented a haiku version of my thoughts:

felt co-sensuous relations

enact

neurological union

But as soon as I found this formulation I felt uneasy. There was something about ‘enact’ that suggested a temporal precedence and consequence, and that wasn’t quite right. So, I went back to my thoughts about radiating and inviting – in all interaction we affectively radiate and invite or distance (which is a less obvious form of rejection, though I’m not sure why I’m being cautious). In enkinaesthetic, felt co-sensuality we radiate and invite or distance, and in so-doing we are co-determining our worlds. This co-determination is better understood as co-constitution because it removes the suggestion that things could not be otherwise. Together – and this togetherness includes the rest of our temporal and spatial universes and no justification will be given for this claim at this point, though it is in my papers – we co-constitute our affective worlds.

What has this to do with AT?

Well, my suggestion is now that the felt-co-sensuous (enkinaesthetic) experience recursively ensures the presence and adaptation of the corresponding neurology, and the neurology recursively ensures the presence and adaptation of the enkinaesthetic experience. So, the resonances we feel with some circumstances, people, technologies, and even visual, auditory, gustatory, haptic, and olfactory objects, is as a result of the recursive nature of this process and, I hazard a guess, the neurological-enkinaesthetic correlation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

